Beginners guide to the 7 Chakras

Getting unblocked and balanced

Our bodies don’t just exert energy. They are energy. Inside us are 7 energy centers, called Chakras, which line the spine from base to crown of the head. The Chakras hold the essence of mind-body balance. If you have physical stress or dis-ease, your emotional health will be affected. Likewise, if you are emotionally imbalanced, your physical body will experience inhibitions.

Each Chakra is a spinning wheel of energy that keeps us vibrant and healthy. Imagine putting a stick through this spinning wheel; the wheel will stop turning. We need to remove any blocks so our Prana can continue to flow with vital life force. Yoga and meditation are key practices that create self-awareness and keep the wheel turning for emotional, mental and physical clarity.

When you understand the imbalances and corresponding Chakra, you have the power to heal yourself. Let’s uncover what each one means so you can remove any blocks.


What does each Chakra mean

1st Chakra or Root Chakra is at your tailbone. Root Chakra represents stability, security and our basic need. When this Chakra is open (or balanced), we feel safe and fearless.

  • Emotional imbalance: fear around basic life survival like money, shelter, food
  • Balancing yoga pose: Warrior II Pose (Virabhadrasana II)

2nd Chakra or Sacral Chakra is located two inches below your navel. Sacral Chakra represents creativity and sexual center. When this Chakra is open you are creative, outgoing and passionate.

  • Emotional imbalance: addictions, fear of betrayal, non-commital
  • Balancing yoga pose: Low Squat (Malasana)

3rd Chakra or Solar Plexus Chakra is located three inches above your navel. Solar Plexus Chakra represents our source of power.

  • Emotional imbalance: poor self-esteem, feelings of rejection
  • Balancing yoga pose: Boat Pose (Paripurna Navasana)

4th Chakra or Heart Chakra is located at the heart. Heart Chakra represents love, forgiveness and trust.

  • Emotional imbalance: fear of loneliness, jealousy, bitterness
  • Balancing yoga pose: Full Wheel (Urdhva Dhanurasana)

5th Chakra or Throat Chakra is located at the throat. Throat Chakra represents verbal expression and speaking the truth.

  • Emotional imbalance: feeling out of control, no willpower
  • Balancing yoga pose: Fish Pose (Matsyasana)

6th Chakra or Third Eye Chakra is located in the middle of the eyebrows. Third Eye Chakra represents intuition.

  • Emotional imbalance: moodiness, volatility
  • Balancing yoga pose: Child’s Pose (Balasana)

7th Chakra or Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head. Crown Chakra represents enlightenment and spiritual connection.

  • Emotional imbalance: confusion, prejudices, fear of alienation
  • Balancing yoga pose: Headstand (Salamba Sirsasana)

Now that you are familiar with the 7 Chakras, do a scan of your body. Do you feel physically imbalanced anywhere? Are there any emotions that seem heightened? Know your body and know yourself so you can bring balance and healing to your life through the power of yoga and meditation.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.